When Your Cup of Coffee is Cold or Empty …..


Follow on Bloglovin

10671245_10101014245441113_1141192748984848067_n

If you are like me then you can probably relate to the title of this post (most days or all).  I tend to let the coffee (or tea) in my cup go cold before I can enjoy it because I stay busy with 3 kids during the morning and then 4 when Nevaeh gets home from school and even then if I make a second pot it still goes cold before I can have it. There are times my cup is empty and I want more, more and more.

Now this post is not necessarily about coffee and how many cups I could drink a day but more on handling my life daily. For me it is a struggle to feel like what I am doing is purposeful (being at home and parenting). Some days I feel like I am cold and just impatient, un-intentional, empty. I allow thoughts of needing more, wanting to know my purpose, wanting to know why things happened the way they did when I lost my teaching job (a lot of the root of my insecurities). wanting to know if I am parenting or disciplining correctly, the list goes on.

Lately I have been asking myself, What is my purpose?

Every night before I go to bed I sit with my Bible and read a few chapters throughout the Bible, no order just reading and hoping to catch something I missed years before or in church. Last night I was reading Psalm 138 over and over, probably 3 times til I realized at the end in verse 8- “The Lord will fulfill his purpose, for me; your love, O Lord, endures forever-do not abandon the works of your hands.” (NIV) It hit me that God promises it in His word that HE will fulfill his purpose for ME. I may not know what that is yet, but I need to have the faith daily to know that He will FULFILL HIS purpose for ME. I don’t need to be insecure, cold, empty. God loves me forever and always has, He knows what I am going through or will and His plans are good and lovely. It is comforting to know that He is already working out my purpose, daily.

So what about you? Is your cup warm, cold or empty today?

Take comfort that God loves you and will fulfill his purpose for YOU!

Rachel xo

 

 

7 thoughts on “When Your Cup of Coffee is Cold or Empty …..

  1. I love this post! It sounds just like me. Most of the time my coffee turns cold before I can drink it. Seems like I have to drink my coffee fast when I actually do get to drink it. But in all honesty I wouldn’t have it any other way. However, I do get impatient sometimes. I always end up feeling bad when I am impatient. It’s nice to see other mommy bloggers. I enjoy reading all of your posts. God bless you!

  2. What a well-written post Rachel. You are so right, thank you for the reminder from Psalms. Have you read “The Purpose Driven Life?” I am currently reading it and a few key points keep popping into my head lately, including that very same thing you are writing about – that God has a purpose for EVERYONE! Don’t be so hard on yourself – I do think that moms are their own worst critic, I feel like I’ve failed my daughter somehow on a daily basis, yet my family and friends say I’m doing a great job. Lift your head up and continue praying for strength and guidance – as you already know, He will provide those for you (and the rest of us who pray for it also!!) Love ya girl!

Leave a Reply

