Aztec print maxi skirt turned dress


Follow on Bloglovin

Hello everyone, and happy Monday! I hope everyone had a good weekend. On Saturday my hubby and I were suppose to have a date night, but there was some miscommunication between my family (the sitters) and so we ended up spending the day out at the mall with the children and I got some errands done and some online shopping and me time done. I know that some fashion bloggers are participating in the #noshopseptember challenge (which is awesome by the way) but since I never shop for myself I finally took part in spendingthe first of September shopping with a gift card on a lovely Aztec printed cardigan at the Mint Julep Boutique and went to Rue 21 and got a Aztec printed maxi skirt. I am new to the Aztec printed theme but I am just blessed to have had a gift card and some extra money to shop with. Next on my shopping list is a chambray top, leopard print flats and grey jean jeggings and maybe a leopard printed scarf. We shall see, I need to keep an eye out as I don’t want to go expensive on anything, so I may be doing a Plato’s Closet or Goodwill run soon as the mall doesn’t have much of what I am looking for with the price range I am looking for on each item.
Now on to this skirt. I found it on the 50% off rack at Rue 21, it was originaly $20, marked down to 12.99 and I got it for half off of that for a whopping $6. Score!

DSC01419

I choose to wear this Aztec printed lovely as if it was a maxi dress. If I had not told you it was a skirt you probably wouldn’t be able to tell.  The key was to wearing a crop like top I owned and tuck it into th skirt, bringing the skirt up past my waist just under the bosom area. Like you see below.
DSC01405

DSC01412

I love how the pattern looks.

DSC01418

The top I chose has silver and gold embrodiery and sequins that zig zag and creates a Aztec-y pattern about it as well. I wore my punk nail chain necklace and earrings, along with my Rue 21 high heels to give the look a sexy and edgy look.

DSC01423

 

I cannot wait to style this skirt in other ways, especially into a fall transition style.

What do you think? How would you style this skirt?

Outfit details: Maxi skirt: Rue 21 (on clearance for $6)//Crop top: old //Heels: Rue 21 (old)//Necklace and earrings:thrifted gift.

Linking up with:

Whitney with Personal Style Monday.

God Life Happy Wife
vodkainfusedlemonade.com

InDuffinitely Me
The Fashionista Momma

15 thoughts on “Aztec print maxi skirt turned dress

  1. I am really into aztec prints, too… I really only have an aztec open cardi, though… can’t wait to get it out this fall again. That it a really cute combo with the aztec skirt and top! I can’t wait to see others ways you style it.

  2. Those shoes are pretty great, Rachel! I also love the print of this maxi skirt, and you were so clever in making it look like a dress! The top you chose really looks like it could have been a part of the skirt!

    Sammi@http://beautifuldreamerami.blogspot.com/

  3. $6? That’s my kinda deal! Love how you made it look more like a dress too, I think it looks lovely! I have a few Aztec print pieces which I’ve actually had for a while and never really pulled out to wear until this summer. Definitely a fun print to play around with, I love the top with it!
    Hope you have a wonderful day!
    Xo Amanda
    http://sansscrubs.blogspot.com

Leave a comment